Statistics and charts

Indian Premier League Winners

Last Updated30 May 2016

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) twice. Rajasthan Royals (RR), Deccan Chargers (DC) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have won once. First tournament was won by Rajasthan Royals in 2008. Last 2016 season was won by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Out of the thirteen teams that have played in the Indian Premier League, six different teams have won the Indian Premier League out of 9 held so far. CSK are the only team to have won the tournament (2009) and then defended it the next season (2010).

Chennai Super Kings were runner up in 4 IPL followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 3 IPL T20. Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has lost final once. Teams batting first has won six IPL finals and batting second has won three IPL finals.

CSK has entered in semifinals/playoffs of all eight tournaments it has participated in. MI, RCB and KKR has played six, five and four playoffs matches, respectively. Delhi Daredevils (DD) has played playoffs in three season, but never qualified for finals. RR has qualified for playoffs three times each. Out of the 13 teams, eight different teams has qualified for finals and ten different teams has qualified for playoffs. Three teams that has never entered in playoffs is Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS), Pune Warriors India (PWI) and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK).

In IPL 2011, Ten teams has participated. In 2012 and 2013 season, nine teams has participated. In remaining nine seasons number of teams were eight. Five teams has played all 9 tournaments held so far.

YearWinnerRunner-up SemifinalistSemifinalistResultTeams
2008RRCSKKXIP DDRR won by 3 wickets8
2009DCRCBDD CSKDC won by 6 runs8
2010CSKMIDC RCBCSK won by 22 runs8
2011CSKRCBKKR MICSK won by 58 runs10
2012KKRCSKDD MIKKR won by 5 wickets9
2013MICSKRR SRHMI won by 23 runs9
2014KKRKXIPCSK MIKKR won by 5 wickets8
2015MICSKRR RCBMI won by 41 runs8
2016SRHRCBGL KKRSRH won by 8 runs8
TeamWinners Runner-upSemifinalist /playoff
indian premier league winners, runner up, semifinalists