Cricket World cup Winners

Last Updated15 Sep 2019

ODI : Australia has won the ODI world cup five times in year 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. India and West Indies have won it two times each. Pakistan (1992), Sri Lanka (1996) and England (2019) has won one time each. First two tournaments was won by West Indies in 1975 and 1979. Six different teams have won the world cup (ODI) out of 12 held so far.

England has lost 3 finals followed by Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand 2 times each. India, Pakistan and West Indies were runner up in one world cup. Teams batting first has won seven world cup finals and batting second has won four world cup finals. Result of One final has been decided by boundary count. First five world cup was won by batting first teams.

Australia and New Zealand has qualified for WC semifinals eight times each. Australia has lost only one semifinal. After loosing six semifinals in a row, New Zealand enters in final in 2015 world cup. India has qualified for semifinals seven times followed by England and Pakistan six times each. 9 different teams has played semifinals matches. South Africa and Kenya has entered in semifinals but never entered in final.

England has hosted five world cups, including first three and in 1999. India has hosted three times. Every Test-playing nation has hosted or co-hosted a Cricket World Cup at least once. Four hosts, Sri Lanka (1996), India (2011), Australia (2015) and England (2019) has won world cup. India, Austailia and England has won the world cup on home soil.

T20 : West Indies has won T20 world cup cricket two times in year 2012 and 2016. India (2007), Pakistan (2009), England (2010) and Sri Lanka (2014) has won once. First 20-20 overs world cup was won by India in 2007 in South Africa. Total six T20 world cups has been held and has been won by Five different teams.

Sri Lanka were runner up two times, while Pakistan, Australia, India, and England were one time each. Teams batting first has won two world cup finals and batting second has won four world cup finals.

West Indies, Pakistan and Sri Lanka has qualified for semifinals four times each followed by India and Australia three times each.

ODI & T20 : Five teams has won world cup in both format (ODI and T20). These five teams are : India, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka and England.

cricket world cup winners
cricket world cup winners thumbnail
ODI & T20
cricket odi world cup winners
cricket odi world cup winners thumbnail
cricket t20 world cup winners
cricket t20 world cup winners thumbnail
Performance by Teams
CountryWinner Runner-upSemifinalistRank
ODIT20TotalODIT20Total ODIT20Total
West indies2241011232
Sri Lanka1122241125
New Zealand0002026287
South Africa0000004268
Total12 61812618 241236
YearHostFormatWinnerRunner-up SemifinalistSemifinalistResult
1975EnglandODIWest IndiesAustraliaEnglandNew ZealandWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandODIWest IndiesEnglandPakistanNew ZealandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandODIIndiaWest IndiesEnglandPakistanIndia won by 43 runs
1987India, PakistanODIAustraliaEnglandIndiaPakistanAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia, New ZealandODIPakistanEnglandSouth AfricaNew ZealandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996India, Pakistan, Sri LankaODISri LankaAustraliaIndiaWest IndiesSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandODIAustraliaPakistanSouth AfricaNew ZealandAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South Africa, Kenya, ZimbabweODIAustraliaIndiaSri LankaKenyaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesODIAustraliaSri LankaSouth AfricaNew ZealandAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India, Sri Lanka, BangladeshODIIndiaSri LankaPakistanNew ZealandIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia, New ZealandODIAustraliaNew ZealandIndiaSouth AfricaAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019EnglandODIEnglandNew ZealandIndiaAustraliaEngland won on boundary count
2007South AfricaT20IndiaPakistanAustraliaNew ZealandIndia won by 5 runs
2009EnglandT20PakistanSri LankaWest IndiesSouth AfricaPakistan won by 8 wickets
2010West IndiesT20EnglandAustraliaPakistanSri LankaEngland won by 7 wickets
2012Sri LankaT20West IndiesSri LankaAustraliaPakistanWest Indies won by 36 runs
2014BangladeshT20Sri LankaIndiaWest IndiesSouth AfricaSri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaT20West IndiesEnglandIndiaNew ZealandWest Indies won by 4 wickets